FFfAW: The Lost Kingdom

This post is for the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFfAW) Challenge, run by Priceless Joy. This week’s photo prompt was provided by TJ Paris. The challenge is that you write a story of 75-175 words inspired by the photo prompt below. I hope you like it.

Photo Prompt: © TJ Paris
Photo Prompt: © TJ Paris

The Lost Kingdom

“I can’t leave,” she’d told him.

Arliss gazed at the expanse of ocean, age-gnarled hands clenching into fists on the weathered battlements, salt spray dampening her cheeks. Waves snarled against the rocks below – a pack of rabid hounds leaping at the once mighty fortress, longing to devour.

“It’s my home,” she’d said.

She remembered when the sturdy walls had been untouched by such elements. With closed eyes she could still see the patchwork of fields and villages sprawling across the rugged landscape, the coast a distant line. It had been a beautiful sight.

“Where would we go?”

They’d received no warning; offered no chance of escape. The massive wave had swept across the countryside, consuming everything in its path. In less than a day the land was drowned. Only the castle and its handful of inhabitants was spared.

“Then I stay too,” he’d told her.

Ten years had passed since the others left. She and Kinnard alone remained: Lord and Lady of a watery realm.

But maybe now she was ready to leave…

Word Count: 175


Considering I knew what story I wanted to tell for this picture pretty much as soon as I saw it, I’ve found this one really difficult to write. Trying to tell the whole thing in 175 words was not easy! I really do hope it made sense as I had to leap back and forth chronologically in order to fit it all in.

As I’m sure you know by now, my names generally have meaning. This week: Arliss is both an Irish girl’s name meaning ‘from the high fort’ and a Hebrew name meaning ‘pledge’; Kinnard is a Scottish boy’s name meaning ‘from the high place’.
image10

wpImg


20 thoughts on “FFfAW: The Lost Kingdom

  1. This is wonderful Louise, I love it! I’m happy that Kinnard decided to stay with her. I love how it ended! Thank you so much for being a loyal story writer for FFfAW. I appreciate you! And, I always love reading your stories.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.