Cee’s Black and White Challenge: Liquids

Ulswater, Lake District, Cumbria, UK
Ulswater, Lake District, Cumbria, UK

You gaze upon the sun-kissed waters from the shoreline’s shaded nook, bare toes caressed by liquid chill. One by one you gather each angry thought, each nagging frustration that claws at mind and spirit, and you cast them into the depths. With a heart embracing serenity, you let the water wash away all cares.

Ulswater, Lake District, Cumbria, UK
Ulswater, Lake District, Cumbria, UK

This is my entry into Cee’s Black and White Challenge. This week’s theme is liquids.

Both of the pictures were taken at Ulswater in the Lake District when I visited there on holiday a year or so ago. The little passage of descriptive writing is actually quite representative of my own emotional state on that particular day. I was on holiday with my parents, sister and nephew and my sister made it quite clear to the rest of us that she didn’t really want to be there. I’m generally quite laid back but her attitude was making me annoyed. A walk alongside the lake allowed me to regain my usual calm.

050714-black-and-white-4


16 thoughts on “Cee’s Black and White Challenge: Liquids

  1. My first impression is that she let the water enveloped her literally….I had to compose myself and re-read it. The water calmed her; diffused her annoyance…did I get it right, Louise? Photos show a beautiful and tranqul scene. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.